The ‘I’ in Life.

 

 

Some days I look at my behavior – and I shock myself.

I can’t believe I just said this, or did that. Especially when my actions or words are directed toward someone I dearly love…

Even some stranger who had the nerve to cut me off in traffic; or ride my bumper down the highway when the speed limit clearly says ’60 mph’ – and they are pushing me to go 70, 75, 80 mph – but, no big deal! Speed limits are only mild suggestions! Right………..!?

These instances that everyone goes through every day are the perfect example of being SELF-centered. Being Human.

Now, don’t get me wrong – it’s good to be centered…  But what are we centered on??? Are we centered on Jesus – or are we centered on SELF?

On Sunday morning, at the small Baptist church the boyfriend and I have attended lately, I felt like the pastor was speaking directly to me at different points in the sermon.

He didn’t need to look in my direction – but I felt the heaviness of conviction building on my heart all the same.

The pastor said: “Self is the original four letter word.”   I felt like the phrase hit me between the eyes… How many times a day am I only concerned about that ‘I’ in the word Life?  I’m ashamed to think that so many of my thoughts are centered on how events effect ME; how does this make ME feel; why is this happening to ME? Me, me, me, me, me.

It is an issue/boulder in my heart that I am praying desperately that the Holy Spirit will just keep chiseling away at.

To say the least, this issue of being SELF-centered is a great reminder that all of us are just one big construction site – that will never be completed until we see Him face to face. No one is perfect.

Just some stuff that was perculating in my brain as I try to center myself on Jesus – and put His Kingdom first in my life always.

I hope my thoughts make sense. If not I am gonna blame the Blood Sugar… 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

